Ectopic.

14 06 2011

The pregnancy was ectopic. I knew as soon as the scan started that it wasn’t good news. It’s pathetic, but I was hoping for a basic miscarriage, because that was the easy route. Unfortunately, there was evidence of the pregnancy in my tube. Three different doctors scanned me to confirm.

Right now my betas are low enough that it appears my body is trying to resolve the pregnancy itself. I’m to immediately discontinue the proges.terone and go back for repeat betas tomorrow. We were told there are three options for how this will go:

Option 1: My body resolves the pregnancy on its own and this ends as an ectopic miscarriage. We can try again after one full cycle.

Option 2: My beta levels do not resolve, and we have to chemically end the pregnancy(metho.trexate). We can try again in 3-6 months.

Option 3: We can surgically remove the pregnancy, and possibly lose my tube while doing so. We can try again 6-8 weeks post surgery.

We’re hoping we can go through option 1. option 3 would be our second choice-I’d rather risk my tube than be stuck for 6 months with no chance of trying. Right now, I can’t think much beyond anger and devastation. I have a lot more to say, but this post has taken me 40 minutes to write through my tears so far, so it can wait for another day.

 

Actions

Information

7 responses

14 06 2011
JustHeather

*Many hugs* I’m so sorry.

14 06 2011
Chickenpig

I’m so sorry šŸ˜¦ I hope that at least you can have the lesser of three evils. The waiting to try again, for me, was the hardest part. Don’t expect it to be as quick as it appears. Your doctor will have you wait a cycle, but it may take a while for that cycle to occur, just so that you’re prepared. I miscarried in November, but it took until January for my HCG to drop to zero so my cycles would start up again. I didn’t get to transfer embryos until March, so even a one cycle wait can mean 4 months. I have everything crossed that things move as smoothly as they can in this situation, and that your next cycle brings you a healthy pregnancy.

14 06 2011
milesowilley

I’m so very sorry to hear about your loss. I really hope you are able to try again as soon as possible, with a healthy baby outcome. I’m also a military spouse about to have my first IUI using DS and I was so glad to find your blog, not many spouses talk about the issues they have TTC much less with DS. Thank you for putting it out and I wish you all the luck.

14 06 2011
SurlyMama

So Sorry {{HUGS}}

14 06 2011
Kat

I’m so sorry. I also had an ectopic so I know how you feel. I had surgery (because I had been misdiagnosed and it was the only option) and to be honest with you I didn’t feel like thinking about trying again until at least 3 months after. Although the surgery is minimally invasive, there is still recovery and stitches and bruising. I wanted to make sure that my body was healed first. My period didn’t come back for 5/6 weeks.

Do whatever you need to do to make sure you stay healthy.

15 06 2011
Fiona

((((((huggles)))))) I’m so sorry JenJen xx

18 06 2011
Foxypopcorn

Oh God Jen, I am so sad to read this, So dad that you have to be going through this loss, so so sad. It just doesn’t seem fair or right that there can be so much sadness and grief piled onto one woman, one couple.

Sending you lots of love.

Leave a Reply

