Welcome ICLWer’s!

21 06 2011

This is my second attempt at ICLW. I’m hoping to do a better job this time around.

Let’s see, things you should know when reading my blog:
I’m Jen.
I’m a military wife.
I’m a full-time working stepmother.
I have PCOS and Endo.metriosis>
I live along the coast.
I’m a bit of a geek.
I love my husband like crazy.

We have been TTC our first for what feels like forever now(since 2006 we have been NTNP/TTC/TTCMA/NTNP/etc) and have moved on to donor sperm after being told that IVF with ICSI and TESE was our best option for having biological children. That was not in our budget, so after some soul searching, we moved on to the world of donor gametes.

Our first cycle with our current RE began in late April 2011, and was a clo.mid/DIUI cycle. We were lucky enough to conceive on our first try, but low betas plagued us from the beginning, along with spotting and low proges.terone, and a week ago today at 6w3d we discovered the pregnancy was ectopic. We discontinued the proges.terone therapy(the only thing keeping me pregnant at that point) and my betas began to drop drastically, and I miscarried over the weekend officially.

As of right now, our RE said I can go back after one cycle. I have no idea how long that will take, given that my cycles were irregular before this and it seems like my body does not like to let anything happen right. I’m hoping to return at this point by early August so we can try again before my husband deploys. We’re on a tight timeline thanks to the military and are hoping that we can conceive again within 1-2 cycles. I will be monitored closely during any future pregnancies to ensure that if another ectopic happens we catch it as early as possible.

I’d love to get to know you better! I’m an avid blog reader, but I’ll admit I don’t have time to go get completely caught up on all the blogs during ICLW, so I’d like you to answer some questions for me.

How long have you been TTC?(or if pregnant/parenting, how long were you TTC)
What is your favorite color?
Are family/friends aware of your TTC struggles(if applicable)?
What made you start blogging?
Who is one blogger that has stood out to you?

Once again, welcome, and I hope to get to know you better over the next few days and weeks!

Actions

Information

12 responses

22 06 2011
Lissie

Hi from ICLW!!

We have been TTC for 19 months (12 on our own and 7 with an RE).

I’m not sure I can pick a favorite color. I am an art person so I love most colors. Purples and blues are probably in the top.

I have told anyone who will listen about our upcoming IVF 🙂

I started blogging when I started feeling bad for my hubby for having to listen to be blubber all the time. It has helped me get feelings out without raining them all over him all the time.

http://thechildlessmom.blogspot.com/ I have been following her story from the beginning and just love her attitude and her sense of humor. I hope she gets her BFP soon!

22 06 2011
mag

Hi there – I found you through another blog I believe, but came back today when I was on the ICLW website. I’m sorry to hear about your recent loss. This TTC/IF stuff is not for the weak, that’s for sure.

Here are some answers to your questions:

How long have you been TTC? 8 months, but I have PCOS and zero insurance coverage, so it will likely take some time.
What is your favorite color? Pink, oddly. I’m not a super girly girl, so I find that to be funny.
Are family/friends aware of your TTC struggles(if applicable)? Parents and siblings on both sides, and an aunt or two (DH has 12 aunts!). A couple of my friends, but that’s it.
What made you start blogging? To keep track of everything we’ve tried. I found myself forgetting some stuff and wanted to make sure I had a backup of my history.
Who is one blogger that has stood out to you? http://missconception-ads.blogspot.com/ I have been following her for several weeks now and just really find her to have a great outlook. She’s in the middle of her 2ww after 5dt, so definitely hoping she gets some good news soon!

I am #80 on the list if you want to stop by!

23 06 2011
Corinne Rodrigues

Hi Jen – Thanks for stopping by at my blog – I hope to see your Love Letter soon 🙂 I got married at 41 and we decided that if we didn’t have children we’d just accept it and not get in to any interventions. 4 years later there’s no baby in sight and we’ve decided to stick with our decision. But I do understand what a lot of women including you are going through and I admire you and wish you the best with that. God bless!

23 06 2011
nh

Hi – thanks for visiting my blog… here from ICLW. Just wanted to say before answering your questions that although we are now parenting, I too suffer from Endo and PCOS!

How long have you been TTC? from starting to boy-o coming home was 8 1/2 years, but 7 years of trying and 5 1/2 of different infertility treatments
What is your favorite color? Purple
Are family/friends aware of your TTC struggles(if applicable)? Yes – and No, it depends on how close they are.
What made you start blogging? I started to blog as a way to get my thoughts and pain out of my head.
Who is one blogger that has stood out to you? Mel – Stirrup Queens, or is that the easy answer? I read a lot of adoption blogs now!

nh
ICLW

23 06 2011
C

How long have you been TTC?(or if pregnant/parenting, how long were you TTC) We started TTC in 2007. We’ve done several IVFs and FETs (have one daughter 2010) and in the process of IVF #3.
What is your favorite color? light pink
Are family/friends aware of your TTC struggles(if applicable)? yes
What made you start blogging? basically just as a way to vent about life, since fertile friends don’t get it
Who is one blogger that has stood out to you? Hmm, I don’t think any one blog stands out. There are several I read, and can find something useful, different about them all (informative, humorous, etc)

23 06 2011
cgd

I am so glad I found you!! I am so sorry that things are so rough for you and my heart breaks for you for the most recent loss.
Thank you so much for your kind comments on my blog
Here is a little about me!!
How long have you been TTC? 4.5 years
What is your favorite color? blue
Are family/friends aware of your TTC struggles(if applicable)? yes, we are open but only select people know all the details
What made you start blogging? a friend suggested it to me for extra support
Who is one blogger that has stood out to you? http://gritandpatience.wordpress.com/
I look forward to following you and your journey.
sending love and luck your way.
CGD #148

23 06 2011
Sarah

Here from ICLW!

Officially we were ttc for 4 years, but I have been fighting to save my fertility for over 10 years. I am not Pregnant and due in a few weeks with our first.

Close family and friends knew, but I think the longer we went without having kids I think more and more people figured out we were having issues.

I started blogging as an outlet for my feelings before starting our First IVF treatment. I actually came across a little blog called “Bottoms off and on the Table” which inspired me to start blogging!!

ICLW #96

23 06 2011
Jen

I’m very sorry about your miscarriage. *hugs*

To answer your questions:

How long have you been TTC? 5 months. I’m a late starter!
What is your favorite color? It changes with my mood. Purple seems good right now.
Are family/friends aware of your TTC struggles(if applicable)? Immediate family and close friends, yes.
What made you start blogging? This is the biggest thing I’ve ever attempted in my life, so I wanted to document the journey.
Who is one blogger that has stood out to you? There are so many, I don’t think I can single out just one.

24 06 2011
Summastarlet

Thanks for stopping by my blog..Happy ICLW!!

We were TTC for around 20 months (with 1 miscarriage) and I am now almost 11 weeks pregnant!

My favourite colour is probably blue…or red.

We ‘came out’ of the infertility closet about a year into our journey to close friends and family…some were very supportive..some not so much.

A friend was blogging about her TTC journey and it appealed to me..so I followed suit! Turned out to be a nice, cheap form of therapy! Never thought I would meet so many amazing ladies and be able to share their journeys too though-bonus!!

Oh goodness..I don’t think I can name just one blog that has stood out to me…I have a long list of blogs that I follow and they all stand out for different reasons.

26 06 2011
Emms

We TTC for 4 years before being blessed with our almost 1 year old daughter. We have been NTNP since she was born, but IVF with ICSI is also our only option.
Purple 🙂
They are now, but few did for the first couple of years.
To share news about our SD, but that’s not how it has worked out lol.
One Blogger…. um I would have to say I love the two week wait.
What are your answers?

27 06 2011
Ordinary Girl

How long have you been TTC?(or if pregnant/parenting, how long were you TTC): Hubby and I TTC for 3 years before we finally got pregnant with our Bean who is now almost 14 months old. We’re getting ready to start the process again to try for #2.

What is your favorite color? My favorite color used to be red but I think I’m leaning more towards blues and greens these days. I change all the time!

Are family/friends aware of your TTC struggles(if applicable)? For the most part, yes. We never tried to hide it from anyone and talked about it pretty openly. One time we even had to do a trigger shot in the back seat of one of our friends cars! I’m pretty much willing to talk to anyone who wants to listen about it, unless they’re insensitive.

What made you start blogging? I started blogging after years of reading blogs. I realized that even after I had Bean, I was still struggling with feelings related to infertility and how that effected me as a mom. I decided I wanted to start blogging before we started our journey to try for #2.

Who is one blogger that has stood out to you? My favorite blog when I was TTC was http://infertilityrocks.wordpress.com/. I still read her blog religiously.

Good luck to you. I hope your little one isn’t far away!

ICLW #9

27 06 2011
Mrs. E

Hi! Thank you for commenting on my blog 🙂

I’m so sorry for your loss. I hope you can try again soon. Keeping my fingers crossed for you. I look forward to following your journey!

How long have you been TTC?(or if pregnant/parenting, how long were you TTC) We’ve been TTC since July 2009.
What is your favorite color? All shades of pink! Unless, of course, it’s of the single line variety 😉
Are family/friends aware of your TTC struggles(if applicable)? Some friends, some family (my parents and sister; my husband’s parents.)
What made you start blogging? I needed a place to express my feelings, and I wanted to connect with, support, and gain support from others going through similar issues.
Who is one blogger that has stood out to you? That’s a toughie… But Maria, of http://everydayisacountrysong.blogspot.com/, is one amazing woman. Her strength, positivity, and ability to support others–all of this after 5 miscarriages–is so inspiring!

Leave a Reply

