Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens….

24 04 2012

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens,
bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens,
brown paper packages tied up with strings,
these are a few of my favorite things.

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple strudels,
door bells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles.
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings.
these are a few of my favorite things.

Girls in a white dresses with a blue satin sashes,
snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes,
silver white winters that melt into springs,
these are a few of my favorite things.

When the dog bites, when the bee stings,
when I’m feeling sad,
I simply remember my favorite things,
and then I don’t feel so bad.

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens,
bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens,
brown paper packages tied up with strings,
these are a few of my favorite things.

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple strudels,
door bells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles.
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings.
these are a few of my favorite things.

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes,
snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes,
silver white winters that melt into springs,
these are a few of my favorite things.

When the dog bites, when the bee stings,
when I’m feeling sad,
I simply remember my favorite things,
and then I don’t feel so bad.

I grew up watching and listening to all the old musical movies- Sound Of Music, Brigadoon, Singing in the Rain, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Xanadu, Grease, My Fair Lady, Hello Dolly, Oklahoma, Mary Poppins, and many more. There was something wonderful about these movies- they had problems, but they found a way to solve them and still SING! Of course, as I got older, I began to understand that they were just a story, but they still captivated me. I still love movie musicals, which is probably why Smash! is my favorite show of the new season.ย  I woke up this morning with the above song stuck in my head. It’s one of my favorites, and I can still sing it without having to look at the lyrics. So, I thought today I would share a post with a few of my favorite things.

#1- My iPhone.

I know, I know. Terribly cliche. But it’s true. I got my phone 6 months ago, and I have no idea why I waited so long, or why I was ever anti-iPhone in the first place. I use my phone constantly- email for work, grocery lists, GPS, as an iPod, to write most of my posts(yes, I blog almost exclusively from my phone and only do final reviews on the computer), games to keep me occupied while I wait, netflix to watch when I get stuck waiting a really long time. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to another phone, at least not willingly.

#2-Cold Stone Creamery

I rarely to never can eat ice cream, and actually don’t even desire to eat it anymore, but when I want ice cream, I want the good stuff. Cold Stone is my favorite- you can pick your base flavor, your mix ins, size, bowl, EVERYTHING. My favorite is the Mint Mint Chocolate Chocolate Chip- with extra brownies. I get the “Love It” size and that lasts me 3 or 4 days, which is usually enough to completely kill any craving I had for ice cream once more.

#3- Castleville

Don’t judge. Yeah, I play this ridiculously stupid game on face.book. It’s mindless and amusing. Plus, I don’t feel obligated to play it constantly. I can play it once a day, ten times a day, once a week, or even go missing for a few weeks and it’s still there, still doing the same thing as always.

#4- Washi Tape

(Not my collection pictured, I can only wish). What is washi tape? Washi tape is gorgeous, fun, funky, colorful tape. It’s like tape + paper/ribbon rolled into one. I love it for sealing envelopes, scrapbooking, decorating cheaply(random white canvas that I had leftover from a project last year plus a roll of washi tape and ruler equals cheap art to hang in the really boring downstairs bathroom).

#5- Werther’s Caramels

Oh, dear sweet heaven. These caramels are my weakness. If the bag is sitting open in front of me, I will eat the ENTIRE thing in one sitting. I have to hide them from myself so I don’t kill myself with the quantities I could consume. These have become my comfort candy- when the evil AF shows, I beg werthers to make the pain go away.

#6- Netflix

Oh Netflix, let me count the ways that I love thee. There are far too many to count. When we first moved back, we got a netflix subscription and discs. Oh, sweet heaven, we could catch up on all the TV we had missed over the last few years. We’ve since switched to streaming only, but we seriously watch something 7 days a week on there. Current faves include Warehouse 13, Bones, Eureka, Star Trek, and In Plain Sight.

These are just a few of my favorite things…what are some of yours?

Actions

Information

11 responses

24 04 2012
Elizabeth M

I totally agree with you about Netflix. Sometimes Dave and I takl about how we don’t understand how people live without it! For just $8 a month we have made it through quite a few shows and are currently enjoying “Cheers” and attempting not to start another show simultaneously. ๐Ÿ™‚

24 04 2012
jen

Oh, we have no idea how we lived without it. It’s been a lifesaver in catching up on TV season. I lived overseas for 3 years and my husband for over 5 years, so we’ve been without real tv for so long.

24 04 2012
mrsgreengrass

I LOVE musicals too. The Sound of Music is my first and my all-time favorite.

24 04 2012
jen

I grew up on the 2 VHS tape version, and I always HATED having to change tapes because my mom was a stickler about insisting we rewind them before starting the next one! I hated that pause just as it was getting good. Have you ever read the book? It’s utterly fascinating.

27 04 2012
mrsgreengrass

I didn’t know there was a book!?

27 04 2012
jen

Yes! Here it is on Amazon. It’s very different from the movie, but really interesting. I actually read it as a teenager and fell in love even more. Maria Von Trapp is an extraordinary woman, and her story is so much more interesting in the novel version.

24 04 2012
Becky

We keep talking about joining Netflix, but I don’t feel like I have enough time to even keep up with the stuff on my DVR, much less watch anything else. So, maybe someday. I also love musicals, especially The Sound of Music. I sing My Favorite Things to my boys at bedtime some nights.

Thanks for the visit to my blog and happy ICLW!

24 04 2012
missohkay

Hi and happy ICLW! I used to love musicals too and still have a mild Sound of Music obsession ๐Ÿ™‚

25 04 2012
Annissa

Musicals are AMAZING ……. Sound of Music is one of my favorites…. along with Kiss Me Kate … and Disney movies… yep… loooooooooove them.

I’ve read a few of your blogs. I’m sorry you are feeling so lost in what your dreams use to be ….. maybe you and your hubby should have a “look how our dreams have changed” conversation? Maybe you can do little travel adventures closer to home …. find little gem places you never knew about by just going for a drive and trying to get lost! LOL … Just a thought.

I know that my families dreams have changed since my husband mysteriously lost the ability to walk last November – our whole family dynamic has had to change :/ It’s funny how Fate … or God…. take you down paths you never thought you’d go down and you find that your priorities change so drastically ….

I wish I could give you more than some {{{Cyber Hugs}}} …

I’m hopping over from ICLW (#86)

25 04 2012
St. Elsewhere

Happy Happy ICLW…it was amazing to read the list of things you love!

I used to play Farmville once upon a time – obsessively almost!

#24

28 04 2012
Kristin

Netflix is close to the top, but books top the list. I’m a bibliophile without shame!

Leave a Reply

