30 Day Challenge- Day 6

6 05 2012

DAY 6:  Talk about how you chose your RE (Reproductive Endocrinologist).

I didn’t do a lot of picking when it came to choosing Dr. Europe. My insurance covers one RE clinic within a 2.5 hr drive. At that practice are 2 RE’s, Dr. Europe and Dr. Doom. When my initial appointment was scheduled, Dr. Europe had the first available appointment, so we chose to go with him initially. I’ve now seen both doctors in the course of my treatment, and I am so glad we ‘lucked’ into getting Dr. Europe. Dr. Doom is a very capable doctor, with pretty decent success rates. However, he was the only doctor in the practice for 6 years, and became very set in his ways. Even though he’s not ‘old’, he’s of an older school of thought and is less open to listening to his patients. He still treats me like I have no idea what I am talking about, and that pisses me off. Dr. Europe is younger, fairly new out of his fellowships and only in his mid-30’s. His specialty is PCOS and Endo, and microsurgery corrections of MFI. Sounds like the perfect doc, right? Plus, he listens, and has learned I do my research. My reconsult was wonderful because he treated me as someone who has done her research, and didn’t explain things to me like I was an idiot. It’s amazing seeing the world of difference between two doctors in the same practice.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

