30 Day Challenge- Day 22

22 05 2012

DAY 22:  How has your financial situation affected your infertility journey?

Oh boy. We are not well off. We aren’t broke, but we’re not doing great when it comes to making money. We chose our careers because we love them, but they are definitely not ones we make a ton of money in. The military does not make a ton of money each year, and after we pay for a basic living, we aren’t left with a lot of extra money each month. My job, while fabulous, is also not paying that much above minimum wage, and we have to set aside a good chunk of my income for taxes since my employer does not withhold taxes for me. We’ve had to postpone several times from TTCMA due to finances, and IVF is several years off as well. It would take more than an entire years salary for me(after taxes) to pay for a single round of IVF. I wish we were rich enough that this wasn’t an issue.

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 05 2012
Jennifer

Happy ICLW! I just finished up that 30 day challenge you are working on. Loved the questions! It’s nice to find another military family, my husband is Army. I look forward to reading more of your blog and following your story. I hope you will check out my blog too. 🙂

22 05 2012
Trisha

I hate how much infertility costs. I hate even more that insurance companies wont cover it because it is “not medically necessary”. You just know the people who decided that are men with no souls.

ICLW #26

Leave a Reply

