Supplements and TTC

21 04 2014

I originally wrote some of this post content almost a year ago after our third loss in 6 months naturally. I’ve edited it to update how things stand now, so if it reads weird..forgive me.

 

After this last loss, I started looking into supplements. The Mr was totally done with this rollercoaster unless we went to the RE, but I wasn’t ready to go to the RE, and after researching our local RE, was able to convince him to give me another chance. He was going to be mostly gone for a few months anyway, and a few hundred bucks for a large supply of vitamins and supplements that would last me a few months wasn’t that much out of pocket anyway compared to going back to the doctor.

I did a lot of googling. A lot. I read more message boards and obscure forums than I can count. I talked with friends with DOR and RPL, with PCOS and Endo and many other diagnosis. I had basic labs drawn to make sure that nothing was going to be a concern and picked a few specific issues to focus on:

  • egg quality- this is hard to judge without doing IVF, but there is a lot of thought out there about ways to improve egg quality for RPL
  • hormonal balance- with PCOS, my hormones are always out of whack, so I wanted to try and naturally balance them
  • immune issues- one of the biggest unknowns in regards to infertility is immune issues. this is a very new area of research so this is all just things that people are trying

I played with various dosages based on what I had found on message boards, but ultimately added a basket of supplements to the top of my dresser and took a bunch every day.

  • Ubiquinol- a specific form of CoQ10- I take Jarrow brand
  • Fish Oil- take a high quality in pure form and large quantities. Make sure it is mercury free
  • Prenatal- good quality, there are several brands, do your research
  • D3
  • Green Tea- only before O, antioxidant
  • Pomegranate
  • Zinc
  • Super B complex
  • DHA
  • Selenium
  • Melatonin 3 mg(recommend taking this at night)
  • Inositol- also take at night
  • Fertility Blend-from vitamin shoppe, also only taken through O

I took all of these per day, sometimes multiple times a day, for 6 months. During the time I also ate healthier, was exercising more, and traveled out of town more than once. In the end, I decided I couldn’t justify continuing to take all the meds since I had yet to achieve a successful pregnancy. I’m finishing out what I have of each bottle, and continuing on with some of them. I definitely felt better on all of them, but cutting my budget down allows me to save more towards IVF.

I am continuing on:

  • Prenatal
  • Ubiquinol(slightly lower dosage)
  • Fish Oil(slightly lower dosage)
  • Pomegranate
  • D3
  • B complex
  • Prenatal
  • Calcium
  • Melatonin
  • Inositol
  • Fertility Blend- only when we are actively TTC on a cycle

All in all, I’m pretty happy about this compromise. This is the second month I am not on all the supplements and I don’t feel much different, but if I do notice a difference, I’m open to changing up my routine again. I have been sleeping better, feeling more awake in the mornings, and noticed less PMS moodiness since I started this..and clearer skin too.

 

In addition to my supplements, the Mr was also on a few:

  • FertilAid(because it was easier getting him to take those than all the broken down supps)
  • Fish Oil
  • Vitamin E

He has continued to take these meds, mostly because I don’t give him a choice. It’s the least he can do to avoid paying 20K for IVF, so he takes his meds with a minimum of manwhining.

Hopefully all these will pay off in the long run and bring us a healthy baby, even if further medical intervention is required to get that.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

